New Season

Hello everybody. Here I am again, back from a rather long break. However fashion itself seemed to take a rather long vacation this summer, so I hope I’m forgiven.

If there is one time of the year that bores me more than any other, fashion-wise I mean, it’s late summer. You’ve been dealing with florals, pastels and what have you since February, and you’ve probably bought more than enough summer dresses in the sales. With the end of summer nearing, the last thing you want is another airy dress that you won’t be able to wear for the next 9 months. The new winter stuff has just started to arrive in store, but hey, it’s still bloody hot, so there’s very little appeal in trying on a wool coat or something made out of sheepskin. I appreciate that for someone who follows the fashion shows, late summer may not be quite so dull. But I don’t really follow the catwalks, I follow the collections in the stores, so for me, late summer equals a shopping dead zone.

However taking a break from shopping isn’t all bad. I had been really indulging in the summer sales this year, and a spending break was not only called for, but inevitable. The summer holidays left me all the more broke and I started to get bored by seeing the same things in the shops over and over again. Yawn. How exciting however, after not having bought anything for two months (I know! Who’d have thought!), to check out the new season stuff.

So, what are they throwing at us this year? Some autumn/ winter styles come back year in year out, and without fail and sure enough they’re back again. I’m talking plaid, tweed, riding boots, tailored blazers, below the knee skirts. Think Lady Di on a country walk, and add a bit of rockabilly to stay on trend. Personally, I love that style. And something that comes back year in, year out, can only be a) stylish and b) a good deal. Invest in some well cut, good quality classics and you can literally wear them forever.

Another major trend that’s set to continue into autumn/winter is lace. Obviously the color scheme has been turned on its head for the new season. Think burgundy, dark blues, dark greens. I’m not usually somebody who falls for designer items but the leather/ lace dresses from Valentino had me drooling. Beyond affordable, I’ll need to resort to buying a cheap imitation which I hope will make it to the high street soon.

From Goth to Boss! Gothic slash heavy metal slash rock and roll is back, it’s a bit of everything and despite the magazines calling this trend lady goth, a full on satanic outfit isn’t going to score you any brownie points. However a bit of leather, a few spikes here and there, and a lot of attitude are bang on trend.

Head to toe prints aren’t finished yet. The pyjama trend, paisley and other seventies prints continue into autumn/winter. I’d be careful to go head to toe pyjama. You know, just in case people don’t get it and think you are just being a slob. However, head to toe brocade I could get into. Stella McCartney I do bow to you, even though I will never afford you.

Last but not least, this year’s outerwear seems to be a bit contradictory and made me think I’ll skip this season to buy a new coat, thanks very much. Coats have gone oversized but unless you’re very tall and very slender that cannot be a good look. Short girls will look frumpy. Tall girls will look massive. It’s a lose-lose situation if you don’t have the ideal figure. Boo hoo. Another trend I am going to laugh at from a distance are bomber jackets. I remember buying one of those back in 1998, I was 18 years old and in my last year in school. And in 1998, this jacket shall remain. It’s a resounding No!!! from me to the bomber jacket.

Happy shopping, everybody.

Leave a Reply

